Anambra 2021; The Zoning Formula

by Admin

As the November 6th gubernatorial election in Anambra approaches it is pertinent to look at how the state arrived at the rotation of the seat at Agu Awka amongst the 3 senatorial zones of the of the state.

Prior to the 2013 gubernatorial election the then Governor of the state Mr Peter Obi made a strong case as to why the Number one Seat in the State should be rotational amongst the 3 senatorial zones, he stated that since the creation of the state only 2 zones have been producing the Governor of the state with Anambra South having a combined 7 years in power in the persons of Chief Chukwuemeka Ezeife, Dame Virgy Etiaba and Dr Chinwoke Mbadinuju, While Anambra Central has a combined approximate time of 11 years in power with Dr Chris Ngige and Himself Mr Peter Obi but Anambra North on the other hand has 0 years in power, This unwritten agreement led to the emergence of Chief Willie Obiano who is from Anambra North and will at the end of his tenure would have given 8 years to Anambra North.

This unwritten law has automatically tilted the emergence of the next Governor of the state to Anambra South Senatorial Zone prompting up to 90% of Aspirant who a gunning for this seat across the frontline political parties to come from this particular zone and by the end of the next 8 political years in Anambra it will be the turn of the people of Anambra Central senatorial zone.

But a section of the populace are saying that this should be about quality than where a particular individual comes from and it should be more of service delivery and merit than the rotation system that is being currently used, while others are of the view that each Senatorial zone has enough intellects and capable hands to pilot the state whenever it’s their turn to produce the Governor.

In all Anambrarians pray for the best to emerge as we await the party primaries and the election proper

You may also like

Leave a Comment